140 days until the conference

Important dates

1 February 2014
Start of registration

15 February 2014
Abstract submission open

6 April 2014
Abstract submission closed

22 April 2014 !!!
Early bird reg. fee payment
Conference program announced

30 June 2014
Regular reg. fee payment

7 July 2014
Start of conference


11 June 2014
Detailed scientific
program launched

30 May 2014
Poster abstracts

10 May 2014
Oral lectures' abstracts
& Invited speakers
CVs published

30 April 2014
Speakers list announced

10 April 2014
Early bird registration
extended to 22 April

4 April 2014
Confirmed invited
speakers announced

1 April 2014
Abstract submision
deadline extended
to 6 April

10 March 2014
Social events & optional
tours menu launched

4 March 2014
information launched

3 March 2014
Information on the
"Classical Novae in
the Cosmos" workshop

26 February 2014
Information on the
organised transfer


International Advisory Committee

  • Edward Brown, Michigan State University, USA
  • Roland Diehl, Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Germany
  • Iris Dillmann, TRIUMF, Canada
  • Sofia Feltzing, Lund Observatory, Sweden
  • Kenneth Freeman, Australian National University, Australia
  • Zsolt Fülöp, ATOMKI, Hungary
  • Brian Fulton, University of York, UK
  • Vanessa Hill, Observatoire de la Cote d'Azur, France
  • Wolfgang Hillebrandt, Max-Planck-Institute for Astrophysics, Germany
  • Inese Ivans, University of Utah, USA
  • Jordi Jose, UPC, Barcelona, Spain
  • Franz Kaeppeler, Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe GmbH, Germany
  • Shigeru Kubono, RIKEN, Tokyo, Japan
  • Karlheinz Langanke, GSI Darmstadt, Germany
  • Maria Lugaro, Monash University, Australia
  • Francesca Matteucci, Trieste University, Italy
  • Francois de Oliveira, GANIL, France
  • Uli Ott, University of West Hungary, Szombathely
  • Feryal Ozel, University of Arizona, USA
  • Sandra Savaglio, Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Germany
  • Hendrik Schatz, Michigan State University, USA
  • Kerstin Sonnabend, Goethe-Universität, Germany
  • Jirina Stone, Clarendon Laboratory, UK
  • Oscar Straniero, Osservatorio di Collurania, Italy
  • Freidrich-Karl Thielemann, University of Basel, Switzerland
  • Michael Wiescher, University of Notre Dame, USA
  • Stanford E. Woosley, California, USA

Local Organizing Committee:

ATOMKI Debrecen:

  • Z. Fulop (chair)
  • Z. Elekes
  • G. Gyurky
  • Z. Kertesz
  • G. G. Kiss (Scientific Secretary)
  • E. Leiter (secretary)
  • A. Simon
  • E. Somorjai
  • Z. Torok

ELTE University Budapest:

  • Z. Frei

University Szeged:

  • J. Vinko

Konkoly Observatory Budapest

  • A. Kereszturi
  • R. Szabo



Our Sponsors

ATOMKI ELI-NP European Physical
GANIL High Voltage
Europa B.V.



MVM Paks Nuclear Power Plant NAVI
Hungarian Academy
of Sciences
JINA Micron
MVM Paks
Nuclear Power Plant

National Instruments ORTEC USZT
National Instruments ORTEC Uj Szechenyi terv

To secure IUPAP sponsorship, the organisers have provided assurance that NIC-XIII will be conducted in accordance with IUPAP principles as stated in the IUPAP resolution passed by the General Assembly in 2008. In particular, no bona fide scientist will be excluded from participation on the grounds of national origin, nationality, or political considerations unrelated to science.